Triple Glazing

Chat with fellow forum users. No adverts or trade links in here please.
harveywinning

Triple Glazing

Post by harveywinning »

Our house is increasingly suffering from Traffic noise. Is it worth replacing the double glazed patio doors with triple glazing and if so would it be effective? Any other suggestions to reduce the intrusive noise would be welcomed. At times it's even difficult to hear the TV.
trevnhil

Re: Triple Glazing

Post by trevnhil »

I have never heard of triple-glazing here. But because you are asking I assume you have checked that it is available. There is also an insulation value to changing to UPVC patio doors. Again assuming they can be made with Triple Glazing here
Also would you really need to change other windows as well. An expensive job I would think.
Trev..
Coles

Post by Coles »

Hi,

As an ex-Everest Sales Consultant I would point out that triple glazing is all about increased thermal efficiency and has very little impact on noise reduction. In fact, some triple glazing can make noise worse as it can cause vibration in the centre glass panel.

The best solution would be acoustic/noise reducing double glazing if you can find it. Basically, this has a 6mm toughened safety glass outer glass rather than the standard 4mm glass. This breaks up the sound more effectively.

In the event that you come across triple acoustic glazing, my advice would be to avoid this for reasons stated above. Everest discontinued their triple acoustic glazing as it didn’t deliver any better the noise reduction than the double. Although there was an improvement in thermal efficiency, lack of demand was probably the reason for discontinuing the triple acoustic.