Photovoltaic/Net metering etc

Chat with fellow forum users. No adverts or trade links in here please.
Sadie

Photovoltaic/Net metering etc

Post by Sadie »

We’re seriously considering having some kind of system fitted to include photovoltaic cells on our roof & hoping to have the net metering too.
What are the pitfalls/advantages and can anyone recommend a company to use
We’re a complete novice and any advice would help
Thanks 😊
If you never ask the question, the answer will always be....no
Jim B

Re: Photovoltaic/Net metering etc

Post by Jim B »

We've had a 5Kw PV system for about six years and it's more than paid for itself. Our bills average around €16 per month on a five bedroom villa.
We used Green Air who are an established company and we know they'll still be about for the long term.
jeba

Post by jeba »

The problem with my system is that the fuse often drips in a thunderstorm. Once I was out of the country for 3 months and there was no production for most of that period because I hadn't noticed. So better make checking the system a habit.
daveg

Post by daveg »

My system has the ability to check it " On Line" from anywhere....
Via my phone/ laptop......
jeba

Post by jeba »

daveg wrote: Sat Jan 29, 2022 12:27 pm My system has the ability to check it " On Line" from anywhere....
Via my phone/ laptop......
So does mine, but that doesn´t help much if you´re not able to switch the fuse back on because you´re out of the country. Or if you forgot to check.
PolemIan

Post by PolemIan »

Sadie wrote: Sat Jan 29, 2022 9:12 am We’re seriously considering having some kind of system fitted to include photovoltaic cells on our roof & hoping to have the net metering too.
What are the pitfalls/advantages and can anyone recommend a company to use
We’re a complete novice and any advice would help
Thanks 😊
Will PM you.

Ian
J B

Post by J B »