Engineers

Chat with fellow forum users. No adverts or trade links in here please.
Devil
Forum Curmudgeon

Engineers

Post by Devil »

Can I make an appeal for the correct use of the word 'engineer'?

In English usage, an engineer is a professional in a number of sectors. In my case, I'm an electronics engineer, but you also have civil engineers, mechanical engineers and so on. They all have studied at a university for 3-5 years to obtain the qualification and have a degree (usually BSc or, more advanced, PhD).

The correct word for the guy who repairs your TV or maintains your central heating etc. is a technician.

In US usage, the term 'engineer' is also applied to a person who drives a locomotive.

I make no apology but, when I see my professional qualification used loosely, I wonder why my five years of study and exams lose their apparent value. The SOED says 'A person who works in any branch of engineering, esp. as a qualified professional. M19.
chemical engineer: see CHEMICAL adjective. electrical engineer: see ELECTRICAL adjective. mechanical engineer: see MECHANICAL adjective. SANITARY engineer. STRUCTURAL engineer.' (my emphasis)
Dominic
Site Admin

Re: Engineers

Post by Dominic »

Engineering is the application of mathematics, science, economics, and social and practical knowledge to invent, innovate, design, build, maintain, research, and improve structures, machines, tools, systems, components, materials, processes, solutions, and organizations.

So a chap who repairs your TV is maintaining a machine, and therefore an engineer.
Web Designer / Developer. Currently working on Paphos Life.
Living in Polemi, Cyprus with my wife and daughter.
Miyagi

Post by Miyagi »

I'm in the same boat as Devil as I'm a Structural Engineer. But the word 'Engineer' in the English speaking world is very loosely used. Visual Enhancement Engineer is a window cleaner.
Dominic
Site Admin

Post by Dominic »