Information for MAG box users

Everything to do with I.T, T.V, and telephony.
holitec
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 3:35 pm

Information for MAG box users

Post by holitec » Sat Feb 09, 2019 6:57 pm

It has been reported that Infomir will be blocking some providers:

https://torrentfreak.com/pirate-iptv-se ... er-181230/

https://www.technadu.com/informir-block ... ces/53094/

May be worth only subscribing a month at a time right now, just in case your provider has problems. I would also advise not updating the firmware either. This was reported on 31st December but I only became aware of this today.

Digby

User avatar
Mrblobby
Posts: 541
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 6:23 am

Re: Information for MAG box users

Post by Mrblobby » Sat Feb 09, 2019 11:44 pm

Thanks for the warning about updates , I have always kept my mag box set on manual update only . Looks like I made the correct choice .

User avatar
JimX
Posts: 1365
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 2:55 pm
Location: Tremithousa
Contact:

Re: Information for MAG box users

Post by JimX » Sun Feb 10, 2019 8:08 am

Hello Digby.

Surely this would affect all users as most are pirated although it only says some providers, will be interested to see who gets bumped off...

hope your well Digby.
Jim.

User avatar
Dominic
Site Admin
Posts: 7110
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 5:00 pm
Location: Polemi
Contact:

Re: Information for MAG box users

Post by Dominic » Sun Feb 10, 2019 9:52 am

I remember reading about this when it was first published but have yet to see any reports of people getting bumped.

And let's face it, if and when people start getting bumped, we will ALL here about it! :)
Web Designer / Developer. Currently working on Paphos Life.
Living in Polemi, Cyprus with my wife and daughter.

User avatar
Happy in Cyprus
Posts: 3581
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 10:08 am
Location: Ha Potami, Kouklia
Contact:

Re: Information for MAG box users

Post by Happy in Cyprus » Sun Feb 10, 2019 4:52 pm

Our provider made the point this morning; if, as claimed, Informir were to block iptv providers, then sales of Infomir Mag boxes would slump overnight. That's what Mag boxes are primarily used for. Hardly think Infomir would be stupid enough to shoot themselves in the foot.

The announcement may be just public posturing on their part, to promote the idea that they are against 'piracy'. In all events, iptv providers have shown themselves to be pretty adept at picking themselves up and dusting themselves down following any knock-back. There will always be work-arounds.

Anyway, for good measure, we and daughter checked our Mag boxes to make sure they were set on Manual and not Automatic updates.

trevnhil
Posts: 3003
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 12:12 pm
Location: Polemi

Re: Information for MAG box users

Post by trevnhil » Sun Feb 10, 2019 6:41 pm

Perhaps it would be good if someone could let other Mag box owners know how to set the box to Manual updates..
Trev..

User avatar
Happy in Cyprus
Posts: 3581
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 10:08 am
Location: Ha Potami, Kouklia
Contact:

Re: Information for MAG box users

Post by Happy in Cyprus » Sun Feb 10, 2019 11:34 pm

Tonight I received an email from another iptv service provider who will be known to forum members. He says:

PORTAL BLOCKING
This has been carried out numerous times
all in the USA so far ,as infomir have to have a
request from the official copyright holder and then
a DMCA is issued
https://www.dmca.com/faq/How-much-will-my-Takedown-cost

The BLOCKING is carried out on a REBOOT and
is not contained in the firmware ...also informir can
(as we can with our customers)
force a firmware update regardless of flag.

Image

User avatar
JimX
Posts: 1365
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 2:55 pm
Location: Tremithousa
Contact:

Re: Information for MAG box users

Post by JimX » Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:00 am

Yes do not mess with Portal blocking, possible problems if you do, but I agree with you Lloyd if I does do this then Infomir will be out of business if they are forced into doing this ban, and so long for now to streaming TV, back to our computers.
Last edited by JimX on Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
Jim.

User avatar
Dominic
Site Admin
Posts: 7110
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 5:00 pm
Location: Polemi
Contact:

Re: Information for MAG box users

Post by Dominic » Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:41 am

Easy on the 'B' word. :lol:
Web Designer / Developer. Currently working on Paphos Life.
Living in Polemi, Cyprus with my wife and daughter.

User avatar
Lincoln
Posts: 1407
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 9:56 am
Location: Chloraka

Re: Information for MAG box users

Post by Lincoln » Mon Feb 11, 2019 9:10 am

Happy in Cyprus wrote:
Sun Feb 10, 2019 11:34 pm
Tonight I received an email from another iptv service provider who will be known to forum members. He says:

PORTAL BLOCKING
This has been carried out numerous times
all in the USA so far ,as infomir have to have a
request from the official copyright holder and then
a DMCA is issued
https://www.dmca.com/faq/How-much-will-my-Takedown-cost

The BLOCKING is carried out on a REBOOT and
is not contained in the firmware ...also informir can
(as we can with our customers)
force a firmware update regardless of flag.

Image
Yes we got the same info as we had contacted our supplier to see what on earth was going on. Then out of the blue the above email appeared in my inbox. Still it is nice to know that we and our provider are safe (for now) :D
All things are possible

galexinda
Posts: 440
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 9:47 am
Location: Paphos

Re: Information for MAG box users

Post by galexinda » Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:04 pm

Contacted my supplier and this is the message I received: ...''and that have upgraded boxes on their system, so this cant happen to their customers ...they also said the blocking is not in the firmware and is added to boxes since december if you reboot''

https://www.infomir.eu/eng/press-center ... XnLwWp5LLU

I just leave my Magbox alone and if necessary will take it to Computer SOS!

Les Bean
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:43 pm

Re: Information for MAG box users

Post by Les Bean » Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:47 pm

This url blocked message as shown above popped up on my main supplier's portal.He gave me another url address which sorted it with no problem

User avatar
Happy in Cyprus
Posts: 3581
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 10:08 am
Location: Ha Potami, Kouklia
Contact:

Re: Information for MAG box users

Post by Happy in Cyprus » Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:14 pm

My supplier contacted me this morning to say that if ever Mag boxes became redundant for the purpose for which they were intended, then the service provider would likely switch to Android boxes which come from China, which is not known for it's policing of copyright issues.

The provider I mentioned in my earlier email sent me a further email today to say that they supply their customers with 'Stingray Portal Protection'. Although I haven't checked this out, I am led to believe that this software in some way 'protects' the integrity of your Mag box and service provider.

User avatar
Happy in Cyprus
Posts: 3581
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 10:08 am
Location: Ha Potami, Kouklia
Contact:

Re: Information for MAG box users

Post by Happy in Cyprus » Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:33 am

Phew...that was scary! Turned on the TV at midnight to catch News at Ten and faced the image below - a forced update, over which I had no control. After updating about 5% the screen went blank and remained so for about 5 mins. So I re-booted the Mag box and the update image appeared again. This time it went up to 100% and the Mag box then re-booted automatically. After that, everything worked normally, and I was able to watch the prog. Not sure whether this update came from Infomir or our provider.

Image

User avatar
Mrblobby
Posts: 541
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 6:23 am

Re: Information for MAG box users

Post by Mrblobby » Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:49 am

Your new version is from 2017 ? The current version is listed as 2018 ?

Turned mine on this morning and get nothing at all just a black screen after it says loading , tried rebooting a couple of times and still nothing , I will have to message provider .

As my box is on manual update , I thought I would try an update , but no new version came up .
Attachments
A8C5E717-DBC4-4E62-A7E3-249B855CC79D.jpeg
A8C5E717-DBC4-4E62-A7E3-249B855CC79D.jpeg (124.62 KiB) Viewed 349 times
Last edited by Mrblobby on Tue Feb 12, 2019 8:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
JimX
Posts: 1365
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 2:55 pm
Location: Tremithousa
Contact:

Re: Information for MAG box users

Post by JimX » Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:56 am

I have just been told my provider is having this upgrade? there is no way to block this upgrade out, and his unit came back online as normal, the problem is if your MAG will not reboot then you would have to contact your normal provider, this is fine providing your provider is still available to contact.

I take it, Lloyd, yours came back OK?
Jim.

Hudswell
Posts: 3374
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 9:24 pm

Re: Information for MAG box users

Post by Hudswell » Tue Feb 12, 2019 8:28 am

But surely, and reading through the bits and bobs from Infomir, if MAG users do lose any viewing it will only be the channels such as SKY and other channels that are subscription based and the ones that provide access to boxed sets, some films etc. All Infomir is doing is reacting to the complaints of legitimate providers whose copyright is being infringed. I can’t see reception of the “Free to View” channels being effected, yes technically they should not be available outside of the UK base but I imagine that there are thousands of MAG users in the UK who receive their tv by this means and pay the TV licence. I would imagine it would be extremely difficult to block overseas users and not legitimate users in the UK.
Last edited by Hudswell on Tue Feb 12, 2019 8:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
Certa Cito

trevnhil
Posts: 3003
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 12:12 pm
Location: Polemi

Re: Information for MAG box users

Post by trevnhil » Tue Feb 12, 2019 8:46 am

We too can only get a Black screen after rebooting a couple of times and choosing uktv... :-(
Trev..

galexinda
Posts: 440
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 9:47 am
Location: Paphos

Re: Information for MAG box users

Post by galexinda » Tue Feb 12, 2019 9:16 am

Not only the live streaming of UK channels but all other components eg catch up, VoD etc are affected if the blocking takes place at source as only by controlling the entire network, can they guarantee a level of quality and service.

trevnhil
Posts: 3003
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 12:12 pm
Location: Polemi

Re: Information for MAG box users

Post by trevnhil » Tue Feb 12, 2019 10:00 am

I have been told this morning that the supplier uktv is 'down' at the moment and is likely to be back on in a few hours..
Trev..

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest